The Ministry of Information and Communications Technology is a newly established Ministry. It was established in June 2006 with a mandate of providing:-

  • Strategic and technical leadership.
  • Overall coordination, support and advocacy on all matters of policy
  • Laws
  • Regulations.
  • And strategy for the ICT sector.

It also ensures sustainable, efficient and effective development, harnessing and utilization of ICT in all spheres of life to enable the country achieve its national development goals.

The Ministry is headed by a Minister who is assisted by one Minister of State.
There are two Directorates namely, the Directorate of Communications & Broadcasting Infrastructure and the Directorate of Information Technology & Information Management Services.
The Directorate of Communications and Broadcasting Infrastructure comprises the Departments of Telecommunications and Posts, and the one of Broadcasting Infrastructure.
The Directorate of Information Technology & Information Management Services comprises the Department of Information Technology and the one of Information Management Services. In addition to the above there is a Department of Finance and Administration and a Division of Planning which provide support services to the entire Ministry.

The Information and Communications Technology sector which the Ministry leads is divided into three levels namely, Policy, Regulatory and Operational.
The Regulatory level is composed of Uganda Communications Commission (UCC) and the proposed National Information Technology Authority (NITA-U), while the operational level is composed of telecommunications, postal, Information Technology (IT) and broadcasting operators.